Understanding The 7 Chakras

Our emotions and thoughts are always accompanied by biochemical reactions in our bodies. Energy fields interact within an individual person, interact between one person and another, and between one person and the world in general. When we begin to appreciate ourselves as fields of energy with the ability to affect the quality of our own experience, we will be getting in touch with our innate ability to heal ourselves and create health every day of our lives.

Christiane Northrup, MD – Women’s Bodies, Women’s Health

What Are Chakras?

The word “chakra” is an ancient Sanskrit word that literally means “wheel or disk” and refers to a swirling wheel of energy that resembles a vortex. It is said we literally have 1,000s of these concentrated energy centers, however, in this post we will be addressing the 7 major or primary chakras.

The chakra system regulates the flow of energy throughout the body and helps maintain all of our body’s processes. Each one is located in a specific area, has its own vibrational frequency, color, and characteristics. Each chakra is responsible for supplying energy to specific major organs and bundles of nerves.

Additionally, each chakra is responsible for a particular area of our lives as well. These areas span across our physical, emotional, psychological, and spiritual states of being.

When the chakras are healthy and properly balanced, they work together to give you a joyful, creative and balanced life. Alternatively, if one or more of them becomes blocked or out of sync, your body’s energy system cannot flow freely and you will have an imbalance in some areas of your life. The state of the physical body is usually a reflection of the condition of one (or more) of your chakras.

The chakras are invisibly aligned in an ascending column, starting at the base of the spine through the crown of the head.  Understanding the function of these 7 energy systems enables us to balance our energies and facilitate healing and expansion in every area of our lives. Let’s take a look at each chakra and how it affects your overall well being.

Chakra 1 – Root or Base – Red

The root chakra (Muladhara) is located at the base of the spine. The color is red. It is your Survival Center; The root of your being. It is considered the base or foundation of the chakra system as well as the foundation of our emotional and mental health. As such, it’s important that this energy center be balanced in order to provide a solid foundation for the chakras above.

Area Of Influence: Grounding, Security, Survival, Self-preservation, Your sense of safety, Connecting to our tribe, Ability to thrive.

Associated organs: Base of the Spine, Immune System, Excretory System, Teeth, Blood, Skeletal Structure, Large Intestine.

Symptoms of an unbalanced root chakra: poor circulation, lower back pain, obesity, anorexia nervosa, addictions, sadness, feeling ungrounded, fearfulness, lack of discipline, greed.

Chakra 2 – Sacral – Orange

sacral chakra

The sacral chakra (Svadhisthana) is located in the lower abdomen, approximately two inches below the navel. The color is orange. It is your Creativity Center.

Area Of Influence: Emotions and Sensations, Creativity, Sexuality, Finances, Sense of well being, Self-gratification, Giving, and receiving pleasure. 

Associated organs: Ovaries, Prostate Gland, Reproductive System, Kidneys, Genitals, Urinary Bladder.

Symptoms of an unbalanced sacral chakra: compulsive or obsessive behavior, overly emotional, sexual guilt, fear of losing control, impotence.

Chakra 3 – Solar Plexus – Yellow

solar chakra

Chakra 3 (Manipura) is located in the solar plexus area (upper part of the belly between the navel and lower chest). The color is yellow. It is your Personal Power Center.

Area Of Influence: Vitality and Will Power, Self-esteem, Growth, Healing, Development of your personality, Your personal code of honor.

Associated organs: Abdomen, Liver, Spleen, Middle Spine, Pancreas, Adrenal Glands, Stomach Muscles, Digestive System.

Symptoms of an unbalanced solar plexus chakra: anger, liver disorder, diabetes, anxiety, frustration, lack of direction, low self-esteem.

Chakra 4 – Heart – Green

heart chakra

The heart chakra (Anahata) is the center of the energy system of the human body. It is located in the center of the chest (at the first thoracic vertebra). The color is green.

Area Of Influence: Love of self and others, Relationships, Healing, Consciousness, Mental energy.

Associated organs: Heart, Lungs, Chest, Thymus Gland, Circulation, Arms, Hands.

Symptoms of an unbalanced heart chakra: heart disease, high blood pressure, all lung diseases

Chakra 5 – Throat – Blue

throat chakra


The throat chakra (Vishuddah) is located within the throat and the color is blue or turquoise. The symbol is usually a crescent image within a circle that is within a downward-facing triangle. It is your Communication Center. 

Area Of Influence: Communication and Self-expression, Creativity

Associated organs: Thyroid and Parathyroid, Neck, Shoulders, Arms, and Hands.

Symptoms of an unbalanced throat chakra: Creative blocks, problems communicating one’s needs, dishonesty.

Chakra 6 – Brow – Purple

brow chakra,third eye

The brow or third eye chakra (Anja) is located in the space between the eyebrows. It is your Intuition Center and the symbol usually contains an upside-down triangle and a lotus flower. The color is purple or indigo. The function of this chakra 

Area Of Influence: Imagination and intuition, Healing, Communication, Transformation

Associated organs: Eyes, Head, Pituitary gland, the Lower part of the head.

Symptoms of an unbalanced brow chakra: depression, lack of foresight, mental rigidity.

 Level 7 – Crown Chakra

crown chakra

The crown chakra (Sahasrara) is located at the top of the head. It is the energy center of universal knowledge and our spiritual connection to God, (the Universe) our higher selves and to all that is. The symbol is a thousand-petaled lotus flower and is commonly shown as white, but can also be depicted as lavender or purple. The Sahasrara travels downward dispersing Divine Universal energy to the chakras below it.  It is our source of enlightenment.

Area Of Influence: Consciousness and Real Essence, Trust, Devotion, Inspiration, Spiritual Nourishment, Happiness, Oneness, Spiritual Energy.

Associated organs: Pineal gland, Pituitary gland, Hypothalamus Brain, Nervous system.

Symptoms of an unbalanced crown chakra: Lack of Inspiration, Confusion, Overly Rational, Apathy, Greed, Lack of Spiritual connection, Living in your head


Want to know how Gratitude can change your life?


We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Sharing Is Caring
About Taylor Gilmore

Certified Spiritual Life Coach, Law of Attraction Coach, and Reiki Master Healer. My purpose is to help you heal your soul wounds, and release the fearsand limiting beliefs that are preventing you from living a joyful, abundant life. You were meant to soar.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


As The Soul Unfolds

Universal Spiritual Law Of Resistance